Pope versus Pope!
Game Developers Choice Award Nominees Bland as Ever

Civil Disobedience

This serial deals with the history of the concept of civil disobedience, and its development and refinement into modern campaigns of non-violent resistance that have successfully brought democracy to many nations. It provides both the theoretical and practical foundations to civil disobedience, and reinforces the idea that citizens of democratic nations have a duty to dissent against injustice.

The serial ran from December 6th 2007 to January 24th 2008, in six parts, and was timed to end in the week of Martin Luther King Day, and to correspond with a piece on the Ethics of War, which explains why war, if it is ever to be considered just, must be a last resort. Each of the parts ends with a link to the next one, so to read the entire serial, simply click on part one, below, and then follow the "next" links to read on.

Here are the six parts:

  1. Thoreau
  2. Gandhi
  3. Martin Luther King, Jr.
  4. A Theory of Justice
  5. The Velvet Revolution
  6. The Duty to Dissent


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Your Information

(Name is required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)