Beware of Cats!
Dad

Game Writing: Narrative Skills for Videogames

Game_writingcover_1I'm proud to announce the publication of Game Writing: Narrative Skills for Videogames, the first reader on the topic of game writing, written by the IGDA Game Writers' Special Interest Group. A dozen other people worked with me (as editor) to write the chapters, and another half a dozen worked as sub-editors - my thanks to everyone for their contributions . This book takes a skill focus, and looks at how game writers working today get narrative into games. It is far less speculative than most books on the subject of game narrative, and I might even venture to suggest it's more useful because of it. This is a book about how we currently get stories into games. Anyone interested in learning these skills would do well to pick up a copy. It's available from Amazon and all good bookstores.

Published by Charles River Media, ISBN 1584504900.

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Congrats! Ordered.

That's great news - another book that goes straight to my wishlist. Congratulations!

Congratulations! I enjoyed 21st Century Game Design a great deal - I'm looking forward to reading the new one!

Does the book come with an axiom of an essential gulf between "game" and "story"?

This sounds like a great idea - I've been thinking about getting into writing games for a while, so it would be great to get some insight from those with experience.

I look forward to reading it!

James

Congrats from me, too--looks like I've got something else to add to -my- reading list :)

PLEASE when you discuss a book include information about the publisher and the ISBN to make it easier to buy.

This looks great! I'm excited to get my hands on it. I believe there is a time coming when the Video Game Industry will wake up to the fact that play mechanics alone will not suffice to create compelling interactive entertainment experiences.

WE need to be incorporated in the game making process from the inception of a product, simply hiring a scab writer to make poor dialogue won't cut it anymore!

A well versed game writer needs brings to the table an understand everything from non-linear narrative structures and screen writing to traditional narratology.

I look forward to reading this work!

Im looking forward to reading this, along with 21st century design which i've been meaning to get hold of for a while now. :)

Ron: Whoops! Sorry, I usually remember do this. I'll update it.

Ordering...now. BN.com discounts come in handy, too.

For reasons unknown, this post is a magnet for spam. I am therefore disabling comments to this post. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

The comments to this entry are closed.